Surprising Ingredient: Chickpeas

For the second week of my recipe challenge, I used one of my all-time favorite ingredients–chickpeas–in an unusual way.

Chickpeas are versatile. I love curried chickpeas, I love hummus, and I love falafel. I could eat chickpeas for breakfast, lunch, and dinner . . . even dessert. When I came across this recipe for Gooey PB&J Blondies from Chocolate Covered Katie in a VegNews Magazine newsletter, I was intrigued. These are vegan and also gluten-free. I am not vegan, but I try to keep my dairy and egg consumption to a minimum. So when I come across a simple vegan dessert recipe, I am eager to give it a try.

Gooey PB&J Blondies

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (or white beans), drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 plus 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup jam (Any flavor. I used grape.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend all ingredients (except jam) in a food processor until very smooth. Scoop into a greased 8×8 pan. Spread the jam on top. Bake for 35 minutes.

Note: My blondies started getting brown on top, so I took them out after 25 minutes. This was too soon! I should have covered the dish with aluminum foil and continued baking them for another 5-10 minutes.

blondies

jelly

The result? Well, I ate them all and didn’t take a picture of the final product. I thought they were yummy. Perhaps more cookie than blondie. If I had done a blind taste test, I would not have guessed that chickpeas were the main ingredient.

Question of the day: What is your favorite way to eat chickpeas?

2 thoughts on “Surprising Ingredient: Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

