A Walk through Ohio City

Rain is pounding on the windows, Jesse and I are pecking away at our respective laptops, and my cat is curled at my feet.

Just a few days ago, I was strolling through Cleveland without a jacket, snapping photos.

Ohio City, a neighborhood just across the Veterans Memorial Bridge from downtown Cleveland, is an eclectic community.  It is home to the West Side Market, which I visited several years ago.  I distinctly remember seeing an elderly lady hobbling along, a wicker basket on her arm; a shawl wrapped around her head and tied beneath her chin.  She looked like she had just stepped off a boat from the Old World.  In the other direction, there was a drag queen wobbling along on high heels.

I knew the rest of the neighborhood had to be just as interesting, and I’m glad I got the chance to go back.

Here is a bit of what I saw:

This telephone poll was crooked by more than just a few degrees.

Cleveland is urban.

It is rusty.

And smelly.

Yet somehow optimistic.

If you give it a chance, it has pleasant surprises in store.

It is a city full of people who do not give up.

I’m glad I had the opportunity to train there for three weeks.

Once Hurricane Sandy has subsided, I will be back to canvassing in Syracuse.  In the mean time, I hope everyone in Sandy’s path stays safe and dry.

2 thoughts on “A Walk through Ohio City

    • No problem! They have some great coffee shops and restaurants. I didn’t actually eat at the Market–I walked in one day and it was kids day. The place was swarming with students, so I didn’t stick around.

Leave a Reply

