Dreams of Summer

Four months have slipped off the calendar since my last post. What happened? Work consumed me, and I considered abandoning this blog altogether. Now, I’ve rearranged some things in my life, and this seems like the opportune time to revisit this digital space that I’ve created.

To briefly summarize:

In November, I took the GRE.

In December, the cat decided all the Christmas presents were for her.

nessie presentsAt first, I was enchanted by the winter wonderland that central New York became:

deer

But as I was assaulted by snowflakes, I felt like this poor little squirrel:

squirreliiAt the end of December, I finally submitted my graduate school applications.

In January, I waited to hear about graduate school.

In February, I waited to hear about graduate school. I signed up for yoga classes to battle with the stressors in my life.

March didn’t really come in like a lion. It has been cold and gray. But I finally heard about graduate school! Looks like Jesse and I will be in the same history program.

My body and soul are in desperate need of sunshine. It’s not that I dislike winter. But I wish I could eliminate the muddy, slushy, dirty mess that marks the transition from winter to spring. As in, just remove February from the calendar.

I know spring blooms will be here soon. In the mean time, I will share some photos from last summer:

DSC_8099

DSC_8537flower

DSC_8579edited

DSC_8671redI am already looking forward to the bright, humid, sticky days of summer, but I know I really should savor the present. Spring is a fragrant and joyful season. Spring is about growth, and I intend to focus on personal growth. I became frustrated recently because I was no longer happy with my job. Last August, I told myself I would do that job until I started graduate school. I had made a commitment. I was locked into that path. I feared change. I told myself I had to stick it out.

When I finally admitted to myself that sticking it out wasn’t going to work, I felt immense relief. And new opportunities came my way.

Embracing change is never easy. But in the future I hope I can more quickly acknowledge when I have gained all that I can from an experience and allow myself to move onto something new.

Question of the day: How do you approach change? Do you embrace it or avoid it?

6 thoughts on “Dreams of Summer

  1. Change, if you initiate the change then you can embrace it because it may a new and exciting adventure. Like moving to a new state or buying a new house, or starting a new chapter in your life as in entering into a new college doctorate program. Change that takes you by surprise like a death or some unexpected aggregation that causes change, avoid it if you can.

    • Good point! “Embrace” is the wrong word for a change that we don’t initiate, such as a death or getting fired from a job, but I guess in those situations if we can accept the change and carry on then we will be healthier and happier.

  2. Change – both the good kind and the bad kind, now scares me – but this has not always been so. There was a time in my life that I really embraced change and was excited by the prospect of newness – but I think far too much has changed in my life in the past few years, and none of it for the better, that I tremble at the thought of it.

    • I hope the next change in your life is for the better.

      Change can make me tremble, too. I have been overwhelmed at times when too many changes occurred at once–even though many of them were positive, my brain was overloaded and I really struggled. But in the end I came out stronger.

Leave a Reply

